Jump to content

You are now visiting the Sandvik Group website in English. Would you like to switch to another language site with selected content translated?

Innovation prizes

Nine people wearing personal protective equipment for mining operations standing next to each other with three large monitors behind them.This team was awarded for the development of an underground drill rig capable of drilling without human interaction.

Each year Sandvik awards two prizes to employees to stimulate and reward significant efforts in industrial innovation. These prizes are the Haglund Medal and the Sandvik Innovation Prize.

The Haglund Medal

The "Wilhelm Haglund Medal for the Product Developer of the Year" is presented to an employee or a group of employees for product development that has led to significant commercial value for the Group. The medal itself is made from 18-carat gold and the award is presented at the Group's annual general meeting. The winners also receive a study trip and a diploma.

Read more about the Haglund Medal and view a list of the winners

Sandvik Innovation Prize

Sandvik Innovation Prize complements the Haglund Medal. Its purpose is to stimulate and reward innovative contributions within product and process development by providing quick feedback to employees. The prize is awarded to one or several employees who have developed the most innovative product or process during the year. The prize was introduced in 2003 and consists of prize money and a diploma.

Read more about Sandvik Innovation Prize and view a list of the winners

Explore our stories

People, Innovation

Apr 29, 2024 4:36 PM CEST

Innovation and sustainability awarded

A Down-The-Hole drill rig that opened a new market for Sandvik was awarded the “Wilhelm Haglund Medal to the Product Developer of the Year” in connection with the 2024 General Meeting in April. The “Sustainability Award in Memory of Sigrid Göransson” went to the team behind a customer recycling program for used cemented carbide tools.
Innovation and sustainability awarded
Mattias Nilsson, President of Sandvik Manufacturing Solutions
Digitalization, Podcast, People, Innovation

Apr 18, 2024 11:19 AM CEST

A digital revolution within manufacturing

In this episode of the Meet Sandvik podcast, host Marita Sander interviews Mattias Nilsson, President of Sandvik Manufacturing Solutions. The discussion centers around the role and impact of digital solutions in component manufacturing.
A digital revolution within manufacturing
Jennifer Ramos, Business Line Manager Parts and Services at Sandvik.
People, Innovation

Mar 25, 2024 11:00 AM CEST

The first woman on the job

As the first female boss on the job, Jennifer Ramos has found herself in the spotlight. Her years as a spare parts manager in Peru have prepared her well. She knows that good leadership isn’t about knowing everything. It's about empowering people with the right knowhow.
The first woman on the job

We would like your consent

Sandvik and our vendors use cookies (and similar technologies) to collect and process personal data (such as device identifiers, IP addresses, and website interactions) for essential site functions, analyzing site performance, personalizing content, and delivering targeted ads. Some cookies are necessary and can’t be turned off, while others are used only if you consent. The consent-based cookies help us support Sandvik and individualize your website experience. You may accept or reject all such cookies by clicking the appropriate button below. You can also consent to cookies based on their purposes via the manage cookies link below. Visit our cookie privacy policy for more details on how we use cookies.