Jump to content

New generation of tools won the Wilhelm Haglund Medal 2022

The combination of two ground-breaking technologies resulted in new successful products with superior properties. It also led to the award of the “Wilhelm Haglund Medal to the Product Developer of the Year” in 2022 to Åke Östlund, Jan Engqvist, Anders Stenberg and Carl-Johan Maderud at Sandvik Coromant.

The award winners Åke Östlund, Jan Engqvist, Carl-Johan Maderud and Anders Stenberg.

The winners were presented at an event on June 1 and the medal was handed out by Sandvik CEO Stefan Widing.

”It is an honor for us to receive the Haglund medal as there were many good nominations. We would like to thank all involved people, since this is the result of great team work,” says Åke Östlund, R&D Expert at Sandvik Coromant.

The solution combined a new milling technology for manufacturing of hard metal powders, with Inveio®, a coating concept for excellent wear resistance. The result: three new steel turning grades and one steel milling grade with superior properties. The grades already belong to the best-selling tools within Sandvik Coromant and sales is expected to grow significantly in coming years.

”The innovation is a result of a technical development with investments in production technology and a core team that has worked together for almost 10 years,” Östlund says.

Visit the Sandvik Coromant website

The Wilhelm Haglund Medal

The “Wilhelm Haglund Medal to the Product Developer of the Year” has been awarded since 1986 and is named after the Managing Director Wilhelm Haglund, who laid the foundations for Sandvik’s successes in the cemented-carbide area. The award is presented to recognize and reward important efforts that create substantial customer benefits and commercial value for the Group.

The award includes a medal made from 18 karat gold, a study trip and a diploma. The jury includes the Group CEO and representatives of the Sandvik Scientific Council and trade union organizations. All employees in the Group can receive the award and they can also suggest candidates.

Read more about the Haglund Medal and see a list of previous winners

We would like your consent

Sandvik and our vendors use cookies (and similar technologies) to collect and process personal data (such as device identifiers, IP addresses, and website interactions) for essential site functions, analyzing site performance, personalizing content, and delivering targeted ads. Some cookies are necessary and can’t be turned off, while others are used only if you consent. The consent-based cookies help us support Sandvik and individualize your website experience. You may accept or reject all such cookies by clicking the appropriate button below. You can also consent to cookies based on their purposes via the manage cookies link below. Visit our cookie privacy policy for more details on how we use cookies.