Historical photo of persons outside a factory.

The company was founded in 1862 by Göran Fredrik Göransson, who was first in the world to succeed in using the Bessemer method for steel production on an industrial scale. At an early stage, operations focused on high quality and added value, investments in R&D, close contact with customers, and exports. This is a strategy that has remained unchanged through the years.

As early as the 1860s, the product range included drill steel for rock-drilling. The company's listing on the Stockholm Stock Exchange took place in 1901. The manufacturing of stainless steel began in 1921 and cemented carbide in 1942. Production of cemented-carbide tools began in the 1950s in Gimo, Sweden.

In 1972, the company name was changed to Sandvik AB, and in 1984, a new type of organization was introduced, with a parent company and separate business areas.

The company has continuously developed its offerings, including new technologies. In addition to organic growth, Sandvik's expansion has also involved a series of company acquisitions over the years. View a list of acquisitions in the Investors section

In August 2022, the business area Sandvik Materials Technology became the standalone listed company Alleima. Today, Sandvik's operations are concentrated on the following core areas:

  • Equipment and tools, service, digital solutions and sustainability-driving technologies for the mining and infrastructure industries, such as automated and electric mining equipment and eco-efficient rock processing
  • Metal-cutting tools, tooling systems and digital solutions driving higher efficiency and automation in component manufacturing, as well as in-line metrology technologies, additive manufacturing services and metal powder

Interesting events in Sandvik's history

Painting of Fredrik Göran Fredriksson, the founder of Sandvik

The founder of Sandvik

Göran Fredrik Göransson (1819–1900) was the oldest son in a shipping family. He got a strict but fair upbringing and learned at a very early age that all people are of equal value. In time, this was reflected in his manner of building and developing the company as well as the municipality around it.
Read more about the founder of Sandvik

Chairmen and Presidents
Chairmen Presidents
Per Murén 1868-1883 Anders H Göransson 1868-1910
Göran F Göransson 1883-1900 Tord Magnuson 1910-1920
Anders H Göransson 1900-1910 Karl F Göransson 1920-1948
Wilhelm Sebardt 1910-1917 Erik W Forsberg 1948-1958
Tord Magnuson 1917-1929 Wilhelm Haglund 1958-1967
Karl F Göransson 1929-1959 Arne Westerberg 1967-1979
Gustaf Söderlund 1959-1967 Lennart Ollén 1979-1983
Hugo Stenbeck 1967-1976 Göran Ahlström 1983-1984
Ragnar Sundén 1976-1979 Per-Olof Eriksson 1984-1994
Arne Westerberg 1979-1983 Clas Åke Hedström 1994-2002
Percy Barnevik 1983-2002 Lars Pettersson 2002-2011
Clas Åke Hedström 2002-2010 Olof Faxander 2011-2015
Anders Nyrén 2010-2015 Mats Backman (acting) 2015-2015
Johan Molin 2015- Björn Rosengren 2015-2020
Stefan Widing 2020-