The Haglund Medal

The “Wilhelm Haglund Medal for the Product Developer of the Year” award is presented to the employee or group of employees within Sandvik that has made the most significant contribution in product development.

The medal is named after the legendary Managing Director Wilhelm Haglund, who laid the foundations for the Group's successes in the cemented-carbide area. The award is presented to acknowledge and reward important contributions that have created The Wilhelm Haglund medalsignificant customer benefits and commercial value for the Group.

The award was introduced in 1986 and consists of a medal in 18-carat gold as well as a study trip and diploma. The jury consists of the President and CEO, union representatives and other people with good knowledge of the Group's operations. All Group employees are eligible for the award and they can also recommend candidates.

Award winners

2021: Exera® medical wire

A range of fine wire and wire-based components for use in medical applications with demanding requirements, such as pacemakers, devices for glucose monitoring or deep brain stimulation.
Award winner: Gary Davies, Tim Tacionis, and Gene Kleinschmit
Read news about the 2020 award

2020: Coating method for Tiger-Tec® Gold grades for metal cutting

A method for applying coatings which enabled Tiger-Tec® Gold, a technology platform for a family of new grades for metal cutting with unprecedented performance. The platform consists of a new coating material that is deposited by a process called ultra-low pressure CVD.
Award winner: Dirk Stiens
Read news about the 2020 award

2019: Sandvik DD422i and Sandvik DD422iE mining jumbos

Intelligent mining jumbos with a wide range of automatic drilling functions for increased productivity. The drill rigs’ well-designed structures and proven components contribute to a reliable workplace for both operators and maintenance crews. Using the onboard battery, Sandvik DD422iE produces zero emissions while tramming, contributing to the health and safety of underground workers.
Award winners: Tero Yli-Hannuksela, Jarno Kuittinen and Johannes Välivaara
Read news about the 2019 award

2018: GC 1130 PVD-coated cemented carbide grade for milling products

A cemented carbide grade based on the latest technology within PVD coating, increasing the wear resistance of the cutting edge considerably which results in longer tool life and higher productivity.
Award winners: Karin Andersson, Björn Ericsson, Emmanuelle Göthelid and Marie Pettersson
Read news about the 2018 award

2017: Powder-based material for high-temperature applications

The development of Kanthal APM™ and Kanthal APMT™ powder-metallurgical dispersion strengthened FeCrAl alloys. The materials enable substantially increased customer productivity and contribute to dramatically reduced energy consumption in a wide range of high-temperature applications.
Award winners: Roger Berglund, Bo Jönsson, Thomas Lewin and Krister Wickman
Read news about the 2017 award

“The Sandvik Sustainability Award in Memory of Sigrid Göransson" is an internal award praising our heritage of sustainability and community involvement.

More about us